show caption

Rice like the one grown in this picture is the staple diet of approximately 50 % of the world’s population.

Rice for a hungry planet

The story behind the employer brand photo

Like a work of art, the rows of rice terraces stretch as far as the eye can see. Between them two farmers carve out a path. On their shoulders they are carrying large baskets. This is the image associated with our employer branding introduced in 2014. It stands for the promise “Passion to innovate | Power to change” and the desire to develop solutions for the challenges society faces such as food supply.

 

,

Vietnam, Mekong Delta

Long My Region

Standing in his rice paddy in the southern Vietnamese district of Long My, Tran Van Tuong checks the sturdy stems of the coming harvest – he is satisfied. A few years ago, the situation was very different. His field was submerged by flood water, which destroyed most of his crop. “The harvest was just enough to feed my family,” remembers the rice grower. But hardly anything was left to be sold on the market.

  • Vietnam’s rice paddys are the food basket for entire regions. The country is the second largest rice exporter worldwide.

  • The Long My region is part of the Mekong Delta, also called the “Rice Bowl”. Approximately 14 million people are engaged in rice cultivation in this area.

  • The rice cultivation in Vietnam is seriously threatened by climate change. Millions of people are in danger of losing their jobs and their main food source.

Van Tuong could be one of the farmers on this picture illustrating our employer branding. His experiences are shared by millions of small-holders around the world: extreme weather conditions and outdated growing methods make it harder for them to produce enough food.

Better crops for more food

At the same time, the world population is rising faster than ever before and boosting demand for more and better food. Already today, one out of nine plates remains empty – we urgently need new ideas.

In 2050, about
9 billion
people who need to be fed will be living on our planet.

Our experts are working on innovative growing methods to protect seeds and crops. They are also developing new crop varieties to better suit the climatic conditions in different regions. And they are training farmers and providing them with access to knowledge and new technologies. In this way, the company is supporting farmers to increase their yield, improve the quality of their crop and at the same time is fostering sustainable farming. “These initiatives are also designed to improve farming income,” says our CropScience rice expert Mahesh Girdhar. Farmers such as Tran Van Tuong appreciate the experts’ input which they can reliably apply when working in their fields.

With projects in over 30 countries and a number of research and technology cooperation with public and private partners across the world, we are helping to drive forward sustainable change in agriculture and plans to further expand its contribution in the future – with a passion for innovation and the power to change.

Learn more about rice production

This tool allows you to learn more about certain crops by navigating through a fascinating combination of photos and videos. Just find your own way through the BIGGER PICTURE by clicking on the red or green plus signs. Red plus signs indicate a major thread of the story, while green plus signs provide interesting additional information.


“At Bayer, we want to come up with innovative solutions for the central challenges that we face today – and that’s exactly what the rice paddy image in our employer branding represents,” says Christine Knebel, responsible for Corporate Advertising and Employer Branding at Corporate Branding. She heads the Employer Branding Project together with Farsana Jakubi, Global Head of Talent Acquisition.

Join us if you share our passion and our commitment to change our world for the better. Because we invent solutions that will create a sustainable future for our planet.

Photo check

  • Name:
    (Moment Open) Way to school
  • Photographer:
    Hoang Hai Thinh
  • Location:
    Vietnam

Job Search

Last Update: Sep 2, 2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/en/whybayer/values-stories/rice-for-a-hungry-planet/

show caption

Reis wie er in diesem Bild gezüchtet wird ist das Grundnahrungsmittel von ungefähr 50 % der Weltbevölkerung.

Reis für eine hungrige Welt

Die Geschichte hinter dem Employer-Brand-Foto

Kunstvoll reihen sich die Reisterrassen aneinander. Zwischen ihnen bahnen sich zwei Bauern ihren Weg. Auf ihren Schultern tragen sie große Körbe. Das Bild ist ein Motiv unserer 2014 eingeführten Arbeitgebermarke. Es steht für das Versprechen „Passion to innovate | Power to change“ und für den Willen, Lösungen für die Herausforderungen unserer Gesellschaft zu entwickeln – wie die Versorgung mit Nahrungsmitteln.

 

,

Vietnam, Mekong Delta

Long My Region

Auf seinem Reisfeld im südvietnamesischen Long My prüft Tran van Tuong die kräftigen Halme der kommenden Ernte – er ist zufrieden. Noch vor ein paar Jahren war das anders. Damals hatte ein Hochwasser sein Feld überspült, die meisten Pflanzen starben. „Um meine Familie zu ernähren, war die Ernte gerade noch ausreichend“, sagt der Reisbauer. Aber zum Verkauf auf dem Markt blieb fast nichts mehr übrig.

  • Vietnams Reisfelder sind der „Brotkorb“ der gesamten Region. Das Land ist der zweitgrößte Reisexporteur weltweit.

  • Die Long My Region ist Teil des Mekong-Deltas und wird auch „die Reisschüssel” genannt. Ungefähr 14 Millionen Menschen arbeiten in dieser Region im Reisanbau.

  • Der Reisanbau in Vietnam ist vom Klimawandel ernsthaft bedroht. Millionen Menschen sind in Gefahr ihre Jobs und ihre Hauptnahrungsquelle zu verlieren.

Van Tuong könnte einer der Bauern auf dem Bild zum Employer Brand sein. Seine Erfahrungen teilt er mit Millionen Landwirten weltweit: Extremes Wetter und veraltete Anbaumethoden erschweren ihnen die Lebensmittelproduktion.

Bessere Saat, mehr Nahrung

Gleichzeitig wächst die Bevölkerung der Erde schneller als je zuvor und treibt die Nachfrage nach mehr und hochwertiger Nahrung stetig nach oben. Aber bereits heute bleibt jeder neunten Teller leer – neue Ideen müssen entsprechend her.

Im Jahr 2050 müssen rund
9 Milliarden
Menschen satt werden.

Unsere Experten arbeiten an innovativen Anbauverfahren zum Schutz von Saatgut und Ernten. Gleichzeitig entwickeln sie neue Pflanzensorten, die an die klimatischen Bedingungen der jeweiligen Region besser angepasst sind. Und sie schulen die Landwirte und verschaffen ihnen Zugang zu Wissen und neuen Technologien. Auf diese Weise unterstützen wir die Bauern dabei, ihre Erträge zu steigern, die Qualität der Ernte zu verbessern und dabei gleichzeitig eine nachhaltige Landwirtschaft zu fördern. „Zugleich sind diese Initiativen darauf ausgelegt, die Einnahmen landwirtschaftlicher Betriebe zu verbessern“, sagt unser CropScience-Reisexperte Mahesh Girdhar. Landwirte wie Tran van Tuong schätzen den Input der Experten, auf den sie sich bei Arbeiten auf dem Feld verlassen können.

Mit Projekten in über 30 Ländern und einer Reihe von Forschungs- und Technologiekooperationen mit öffentlichen und privaten Partnern auf der ganzen Welt tragen wir dazu bei, den nachhaltigen Wandel der Landwirtschaft voranzutreiben – und will sein Engagement in Zukunft noch weiter ausbauen – mit der Leidenschaft für Innovationen und der Kraft zur Veränderung.

Finden Sie heraus wie Reis angebaut wird

Dieses Tool bringt Ihnen bestimmte Nutzpflanzen durch eine faszinierende, interaktive Kombination aus Informationen, Fotos und Videos näher. Finden Sie Ihren eigenen Weg durch „BIGGER PICTURE“ indem sie auf rote oder grüne Pluszeichen klicken. Rote Pluszeichen stehen für einen großen Strang der Geschichte, während grüne Pluszeichen Detailinformationen zum jeweiligen Teil liefern


„Wir bei Bayer wollen innovative Lösungen für die zentralen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit finden – genau dafür steht das Reisfeld-Motiv unserer Arbeitgebermarke“, sagt Christine Knebel, bei Corporate Branding für Corporate Advertising und Employer Branding verantwortlich. Sie leitet gemeinsam mit Farsana Jakubi, der globalen Leiterin für Talent Acquisition, das Projekt Employer Branding.

Schließen Sie sich uns an, wenn Sie diese Leidenschaft die Welt zum Besseren zu verändern mit uns teilen. Denn wir arbeiten an den Lösungen, die eine nachhaltige Zukunft für unseren Planeten möglich machen.

Photo check

  • Name:
    (Moment Open) Way to school
  • Fotograf:
    Hoang Hai Thinh
  • Ort:
    Vietnam

Job-Suche

Letzte Änderung: 02.09.2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://www.karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/de/whybayer/values-stories/rice-for-a-hungry-planet/