Chemists for R&D

At Bayer you will be part of a global enterprise with core competencies in the fields of health care and agriculture. As an innovation company, we also set standards in research. Bayer is an international science-based company that is passionate about innovations that improve the way people live in our world.

Opportunities for chemists

Bayer offers an open and inspiring environment. We will encourage you to question the status quo and think ahead. It takes imagination, ambition and courage to find answers to society's most pressing questions.


Our pharmaceuticals and crop science divisions offer a range of exciting opportunities in all areas of chemistry. You might develop new synthesis routes and methods, optimize and operate production processes or carry out research into new materials. Alternatively, you could start your career at Currenta or Bayer Business Services. These service companies offer interesting opportunities in the following areas: analytics, patents, environmental protection, information technology, management consulting/inhouse consulting and technical chemistry.

Personal experience

Tobias Thaler got to know Bayer through a postdoc workshop for chemists. Following a postdoc in the United States, he is now a laboratory manager working in Medical Chemistry at the pharmaceuticals division in Wuppertal, Germany. Medical Chemistry synthesizes new compounds for various steps in the pre-clinical research process. That includes substances for screening and the synthesis of combinatorial libraries in the milligram range for hit-to-lead evaluation and lead optimization. In addition, advanced active ingredients are produced on a kilogram scale for in-depth biological profiling as pre-clinical development candidates.

 

 

Marion Hitchcock conducts research into medicines at Bayer to improve life. As a lab head in Medical Chemistry at Bayer in Berlin, her job is to look for active substances for new medications. We spent a day filming her and talked to her about how she came to Bayer, her exciting daily work and what drives her.

 

What you offer

To join Bayer, you need to have obtained your chemistry degree quickly and with above-average grades and broadened your professional skills by taking a doctoral or postdoc program. In addition, you have gained initial practical experience through internships, student jobs or as a scientific assistant at university. Since our new products always result from interdisciplinary teamwork, you need the necessary personal skillset to complement your professional qualifications. Team spirit, initiative and good communication skills are important. You also need to be flexible and mobile, with a sense of responsibility and an interest in finding solutions. Further, you should have spent some time studying abroad or have intercultural experience and good language skills, in particular English. You will fit in particularly well with Bayer if you share our passion to innovate and want your ideas and solutions to bring about change.

What we offer

As a chemist at Bayer, you will be assigned to a specific area from the beginning. Following a successful start, you will have opportunities to work in different fields in Germany and abroad in the course of your career. For example, you could broaden your experience through job rotation or qualify for one of the many managerial positions which are open to chemists.

Employee profile

Bernd Riedl has already scored some major successes in his career as a chemist at Bayer. In 2004, together with some of his colleagues, he was awarded the Otto Bayer Medal - the highest accolade for scientific work at Bayer - for the development of sorafenib, the active ingredient for the cancer drug Nexavar®. Read the full article in research, the Bayer scientific magazine.

The most relevant information about entry and career opportunities for chemists are available in the career onepager.

Your application

Current job vacancies are available via the job search. Please use different search terms to find all suitable postings. Some of our open positions for professionals with the search term chemistry are listed here.

 

Job Search

Information / Contact

You have any questions?
We'll be happy to help!
 

Just give us a call at
tel.: +49 214 30 99779
or send us a message
via the contact form.

Events & dates


All events & dates

Bayer Career App
Bayer Career Global

Follow us

Bayer Career

Bayer Career on Facebook  Bayer Career on Google+  Bayer Career on Twitter    Bayer Career on LinkedIn  Bayer Career on YouTube

.

Bayer Vocational Training

Bayer Vocational Training on Facebook  Bayer Vocational Training on YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Business Consulting on Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting on YouTube

Last Update: Aug 4, 2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/en/working-at-bayer/professionals/chemists/

Als Chemiker in der Forschung und Entwicklung

Bei Bayer werden Sie Teil eines Weltkonzerns mit Kernkompetenzen auf den Gebieten Gesundheit und Agrarwirtschaft. Dabei setzen wir als Innovationsunternehmen auch in der Forschung Zeichen. Als internationales, forschungsorientiertes Unternehmen arbeiten wir mit Begeisterung daran, durch Innovationen das Leben der Menschen auf der Erde zu verbessern.

Einsatzgebiete für Chemiker

Bei Bayer erwartet Sie ein inspirierendes und offenes Umfeld. Wir ermutigen Sie, den Status quo zu hinterfragen und stets über das Naheliegende hinauszudenken. Denn es braucht Fantasie, Ehrgeiz und Mut, um auf die drängendsten Fragen der Gesellschaft Antworten zu finden.

 

Als Chemiker bieten sich Ihnen in den Divisionen Pharmaceuticals und Crop Science eine Reihe spannender Tätigkeitsfelder in allen Bereichen der Chemie. Hier entwickeln Sie neue Synthesen und Verfahren, optimieren und betreiben Produktionsprozesse oder forschen nach neuen Materialien. Oder Sie starten in einer unserer Servicegesellschaften. Bei Currenta oder Bayer Business Services warten interessante Aufgaben in Analytik, Patentwesen, Umweltschutz, Informatik, Unternehmensberatung/Inhouse Consulting oder technischer Chemie.

Erfahrungsberichte

Tobias Thaler hat Bayer über den Postdoc-Workshop Chemie kennengelernt. Nach seinem Postdoc in den USA ist er als Laborleiter in der Medizinischen Chemie der Pharma-Division in Wuppertal eingestiegen. Die Medizinische Chemie Wuppertal synthetisiert neue Verbindungen für die verschiedenen Stufen des präklinischen Forschungsprozesses. Dies umfasst die Bereitstellung von Screening-Substanzen sowie die Synthese von kombinatorischen Bibliotheken im Milligrammbereich für die Hit-to-Lead-Evaluierung und die Leitstrukturoptimierung. Darüber hinaus werden Kilogramm-Mengen fortgeschrittener Wirkstoffe für die vertiefte biologische Profilierung als präklinische Entwicklungskandidaten bereitgestellt.

 

 

Marion Hitchcock forscht bei Bayer nach Medizin für ein besseres Leben. Als Laborleiterin im Bereich Medizinische Chemie sucht sie bei Bayer in Berlin nach Wirkstoffen für neue Medikamente. Wir konnten sie einen Tag mit der Kamera begleiten und fragten sie, wie sie zu Bayer gefunden hat, welche spannenden Aufgaben ihr in der täglichen Arbeit begegnen und was sie motiviert.

 

Was Sie mitbringen

Für den Einstieg bei Bayer haben Sie Ihr Studium der Chemie erfolgreich und zügig abgeschlossen und Ihre fachlichen Fähigkeiten in einer Promotion oder als Postdoc vertieft. Erste Praxiserfahrungen konnten Sie darüber hinaus in Praktika, als Werkstudent oder als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter sammeln. Da jedes unserer neuen Produkte in interdisziplinärer und fachübergreifender Teamarbeit entsteht, überzeugen Sie uns nicht nur durch Ihre fachliche Qualifikation, sondern auch durch Ihre Persönlichkeit. Sie zeichnen sich durch Teamfähigkeit und Eigeninitiative sowie gute  Kommunikationsfähigkeiten aus. Des Weiteren arbeiten Sie eigenverantwortlich und lösungsorientiert, sind flexibel und mobil. Außerdem haben Sie eine Zeit lang im Ausland studiert oder verfügen über interkulturelle Erfahrungen und Fremdsprachenkenntnisse – besonders Englisch. Besonders gut passen Sie zu Bayer, wenn Sie unsere Leidenschaft für Innovationen teilen und mit Ihren Ideen und Lösungen spürbar etwas verändern wollen.

Was wir Ihnen bieten

Als Chemiker bei Bayer betreuen Sie von Anfang an ein definiertes Aufgabengebiet. Nach dem erfolgreichen Einstieg stehen Ihnen im Verlauf Ihrer beruflichen Entwicklung zahlreiche Arbeitsfelder im In- und Ausland für Ihre weitere Karriere offen. Sammeln Sie beispielsweise über eine Jobrotation neue Erfahrungen oder qualifizieren Sie sich für eine der vielen Leitungsfunktionen, die wir mit Chemikern besetzen.

Mitarbeiterportrait

Bernd Riedl hat als Chemiker bei Bayer schon große Erfolge gefeiert. Gemeinsam mit einigen Kollegen bekam er 2004 die Otto-Bayer-Medaille – die höchste Auszeichnung für wissenschaftliche Arbeit bei Bayer – für die Entwicklung des Nexavar®-Wirkstoffs Sorafenib zur Behandlung von Krebs. Lesen Sie ein ausführliches Portrait im Forschungsmagazin Research.

Die wichtigsten Informationen zu Einstieg und Karriere als Chemiker bei Bayer finden Sie in unserem Berufsbild-Onepager.

Ihre Bewerbung

Aktuelle Stellenausschreibungen können Sie in der Job-Suche recherchieren. Benutzen Sie dafür gerne deutsche und englische Suchbegriffe, da manche Stellen nur in einer dieser Sprachen ausgeschrieben werden. Eine Auswahl an Stellen für Berufserfahrene mit dem Schlagwort Chemie können Sie hier einsehen.

Job-Suche

Informationen / Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen?
Wir helfen gerne weiter!

Sie erreichen uns unter:

Tel.: +49 214 30 99779

oder über das Kontaktformular.

Events & Termine

26.07.17 - 28.07.17

Naturwissenschaftliche Schnuppertage

09.09.17

4Starters! Die Berufemesse

16.09.17

Beruf konkret

Zur Terminübersicht

Bayer Karriere App
Bayer Karriere weltweit

Folgen Sie uns auf

Bayer Karriere

Bayer Karriere auf Facebook  Bayer Karriere auf Google+  Bayer Karriere auf Twitter    Bayer Karriere auf LinkedIn  Bayer Karriere auf YouTube

.

Bayer Ausbildung

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Ausbildung auf YouTube 

.

Bayer Business Consulting

Bayer Ausbildung auf Facebook  Bayer Business Consulting auf YouTube

 

Letzte Änderung: 04.08.2016   Copyright © Bayer AG
URL: https://www.karriere.bayer.de/opencms/opencms/de/working-at-bayer/professionals/chemists/